Hokkien Testimony #46

Hokkien Testimony #46

Today we welcome you to the 46th testimony in our Hokkien Harvest series. Each week we have different people from different churches share their stories with us. Today Pastor James Lim interviews Mr. Philip Tan. Let’s listen now to her Hokkien story. An English summary is also provided below.  

Mr. Philip Tan’s testimony:

Early on I was a Taoist and then I joined my brothers and became a Buddhist. I really can’t say that I received much from my life as a Buddhist, and after becoming a Christian then I really could see the difference that Christ offers. It’s not the same at all. As Pastor Lim says, a major difference is in the life transformation for the Christian. For me, I can also say that another difference is the joy that Christ brought into my life. I can talk about happiness, but that is just a temporary feeling. Joy is something that is ongoing and long lasting. Another difference is that each day I can experience a life where I don’t worry. As Pastor Lim said, the Lord fills us with joy.

Sometimes people ask me if there really is a difference in the Christian life. Before I accepted Christ I had a bad disposition, temper and not a lot of friends. I was very young when I started working. Eventually I became a Taxi driver. I have to admit that the income of a Taxi driver isn’t all that much money. It is different from working in the business world. A taxi driver really has to be disciplined and in control of his money, since things are so tight.

I do have a family, and while I was in business my wife and I did have our conflicts. At times when I was out, she assumed that I was having an affair, but that was not true. She was also ill and caring for three small children, so things were not easy for her. Also, when I began driving a taxi, in one year I had three accidents. I had a friend, Allen, whom I would drink coffee with and share my problems. He told me that he would ask his pastor to pray for me. However, when I heard this I wasn’t really happy. Since childhood I didn’t have a very good feeling toward Christianity. However, since I had this problem with car accidents, I was willing for him to pray for me. I had to do something. On a Sunday I accepted Christ. And it was that week that I was to face some challenges regarding a car accident. And amazingly enough all was taken care of. It really was amazing. I hadn’t been baptized yet, but I attended church each week.

When I was a child I was interested in playing an instrument, but didn’t really advance and learn much. However, now as an adult I really had a desire to get better and use music to serve the Lord. During this time, my wife began to show mental issues. She would taunt me. After accepting Christ she wasn’t really positive about it; however, things got worse and it was as though she went insane. I was afraid that she might even commit suicide. She was also very strong. I just cried out to God, because I didn’t know what to do. At this time I no longer worshiped idols. As I said, I just cried out for God to help us. He is real and he did give me peace. Sometimes my wife would go to church, and at other times she wouldn’t attend. She said that she believes in Christ, but she hasn’t very passionate at all in her faith. My prayer today is that one day my wife and I will come together with one heart before the Lord. As Pastor Lim said, we must believe that in Christ one day she will be healed.

As for me, after I accepted Christ my attitude and my temper really changed. My attitude toward my wife and children was completely different. My wife could tell it, but didn’t say anything. My bad habits of smoking and gambling also changed. I had done this for years. I had the habit of smoking two packs of cigarettes a day. I know some say that giving up smoking is so difficult, but with the Lord’s help it is possible. Later, then I made the decision to follow Christ in baptism. As far as my children, early on they would go to church, but then they quit attending. I am still praying for them. As Pastor Lim reminded us, the Bible tells us that if we believe in Christ then our family can also come to Jesus. I am praying for my family to also trust Christ.

During the time that I have driven a taxi I have encountered some real challenges. However, every time God has provided an answer for me. It really is amazing. God has helped me every time that I have faced these financial challenges. God is good.

Pastor Lim shares:

Brothers and Sisters, as we have listened to Mr. Tan’s story, we know that God is very personal and comes into our lives to help us as we face challenges. Jesus opens a way for us when there seems to be no way that we can solve our problems. We need to believe that Jesus is the true Lord and God in our lives. What we need to do is to receive Jesus as our personal Lord and Savior. Jesus will live in your heart to be a blessing and help for you. If you desire to trust in Jesus, then please follow me as I pray.

Dear Jesus, I thank you. You are the genuine Lord and Savior.  I know that you want to save me. At this time I come before you and ask you to forgive my past indiscretions and sins. I want to trust in you to be my Lord and Savior.  Please come into my heart, so that I can depend on you to deal with my life issues. I want to depend on you so that my future will be brighter. Thank you, Jesus. In Jesus name we pray, amen.

May God bless you.

Leave a comment