Hokkien Testimony #74

Hokkien Testimony #74

Today we welcome you to the 73rd testimony in our Hokkien Harvest series. Each week we have different people from different churches share their stories with us. Everyone has their own special story of how God has changed their life. Today Pastor James Lim interviews Judith Halim who will be sharing about God’s work in her life. Let’s listen to Judith share her personal story. An English summary is also provided below.

Judith Halim’s Testimony:

Pastor Lim:

Pastor Lim asked me to share about my life. As a child I grew up in Medan, Indonesia and moved to Singapore about 13 years ago. As a child I didn’t really have the opportunity to go to school. When I was only about 18 months old, my father abandoned our family. As a small child I really wanted a father to love me. When I was around people I heard them say that I didn’t have a father and my mother had no husband. I was very sad. At this period of time in my community, if you didn’t have a father or husband, you would feel ashamed. People would make fun of you.

When I was just 18 I married a man about 10 years older than me. I looked at him much like a father that I wanted so badly in my life. As Pastor Lim shared, many times with couples if there are problems, they may be rooted in hurts that stem from relationships with the father. People are searching for security. This was true in my life. I really yearned for my father. At times like birthday celebrations, graduations, etc. I wished I had a father.

After I had been married about 6 months I was pregnant with my first child. My husband wanted our child to be born in Singapore not Indonesia. My husband is Singaporean so he wanted his child to be born here. So we moved to Singapore. I gave birth to a little boy and named him Joel. He seemed to be normal at the time. However, 2 days later the physician said that he had 4 problems. First of all he had 3 holes in his heart and was very serious. Also his white blood cells outnumbered his red blood cells. The doctor also said that his brain had problems as well and as a result he would be slow in processing information. The doctor said that he would only live about 6 months. I was so sad. I felt that I had so many bad things that happened in my life. I had no father to love me, and now I was faced with losing my child. My life was filled with a lot of bitterness.

On top of all of this, my husband also left me. I needed someone by my side to help me during this difficult time. I was really hurting. If you have no money, you have no friends, and you don’t want your family to know about this. I was penniless and caring for a child who always needed medical attention. Life was bitter and I felt that it would be better for me to die. I climbed up to the 14th floor with the intention of jumping with my child so that I could end this nightmare. But I did not jump. I had also written a letter to my mother explaining everything. However, that afternoon an insurance salesman telephoned me. They knew that I had a child. I told them that I had no money to buy insurance, and the salesman invited me to go with him to church.  I accepted the offer and went to the church. This was my first time to ever attend a church service.

The church service was in English, so I didn’t understand anything. My head was also filled with the intent to kill myself. I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Later the pastor asked that if anyone needed prayer then they should come to the front. I did not move. However, then the pastor said that the woman with the child should come forward. Wow. I did go to the front and the pastor prayed for me. Then he said that God wants to use me and if I follow after him I will be a better person and God’s servant. At that time I accepted Christ, and that night I had so much peace. I also slept well, and at that time since I was depressed I hadn’t slept well for many nights. When I woke up the next morning, my heavy heart was gone and I told myself that I didn’t want to die. So I share with people that Jesus is real, and he took my pain away immediately.

Regarding my son, the doctor said that he was going to die. However, at 6 months I took him to see the doctor. He had said that he needed surgery, but I had no money. It would be expensive. After the doctor ran tests he asked me what I had been doing for my son. I told him that I had not done anything special. He said it was impossible, but my son’s heart looked like it was brand new. That was really a miracle. Originally his heart was in really bad shape and he had no hope to live. Now, it was evident that God had healed him.

I needed to find work, and my mother was willing to take care of my son. I had a tough time finding a job because I had no English. Even at McDonald’s I couldn’t find work because I couldn’t speak English. I did speak Bahasa though, but the pay was really not enough for me to live on. But I just kept praying and trusting God. I didn’t have much, but I had peace. And God took care of me and I was able to find a better job as an administrator. I continued to rise in my job until I was overseeing the company. Just think about this . . . God has used an uneducated person and given me the opportunity to rise in position and do what I am doing.

If I didn’t have Jesus, I would have no life. My son is now a happy fulfilled person. I also have a new husband who loves us.

Pastor Lim:

As you listened to this story I am sure that you would agree Jesus is number one. If you are willing to trust Jesus, you too can experience this kind of change in your life. You can find solutions to the problems in your life. If you desire to experience this change in your life, then follow me in prayer sentence by sentence.

Lord Jesus, I come before you and acknowledge that I am weak. I have sin in my life and have a lot of problems. Lord, at this time forgive my sin and take away all the bad and wrong in my life and be my Lord and King. Direct the steps of my life. I ask you to solve my problems and fill my life with hope. Thank you Jesus. In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Dear friends, if you desire to know more about Jesus, we encourage you to find a church in your neighborhood and attend. They will be glad to assist you.

May God bless you.

Leave a comment